z

From 2018 to 2019: Books Galore from UWA Publishing

To our UWAP supporters

2018 has been a most satisfying year for us at UWA Publishing. You can see below all of the titles we released. We are particularly pleased with the responses – both critical and in sales volumes – of books by people working in universities who wrote engaging books about their thinking and research. We again published a lot of tremendous poetry volumes, and some cracking fiction by first-timers alongside established writers.

2018 carried books of activism and ‘ecological warrior’ thought; books that test the boundaries of language and expression; books about art and photography that makes a difference; and books that we anticipate will still be in the culture decades down the line.

In 2019, we will welcome two new members of staff and say farewell for a year of parental leave to our Publishing Manager, Kate Pickard. Kelly Somers – one of our valued freelance editors – will pack up her home office and join us in Love House. Our new Publishing Officer, Eleanor Hurt, is relocating from Sydney where she has been Buyer at Dymocks Sydney. We look forward to welcoming her to the West.

After a break we’ll be raring to go into 2019 with renewed vigour and new faces and these superb books:

In fiction we have three books in February: the extraordinary talent of Abu Dhabi-based Deepak Unnikrishnan with his first book Temporary People, already the recipient of three major international awards. Martin Edmond delivers an intriguing novel about memory and politics, Isinglass, and South African, Oxford-based Elleke Boehmer  explores southern hemisphere journeys and personal histories in The Shouting in the Dark. Also in February there are poetry volumes by Tricia Dearborn, Shey Marque and Richard James Allen. Later in 2019 these poets will also appear in our UWAP Poetry series: Michelle Cahill, Leni Shilton and Michael Aiken. The Collected Works of Christopher Brennan, edited by John Kinsella, will appear later in our Classic Australian Poetry series, and Stuart Cooke’s ecological volume Lyre posits other forms of life (animal, plant and other) have their own languages and thus poetries.

In April we have more fiction: a novella from John Hughes, No One, a search for identity lost and found on the streets of Redfern, and Typhoon Kingdom, by Matthew Hooton, that presents a parallel narrative set in Korea tracking the painful struggles towards independence in its history. We also have an exquisite travel and literary memoir in March by James Halford, Requiem with Yellow Butterflies. It tracks ways that we make sense of place, both geographic and psychic.  An Australian writer and a Mexican scientist fall in love reading great Latin American books aloud, including Judith Wright and Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

Catharine Lumby and Kate Gleeson have edited a volume entitled The Age of Consent?: Young People, Sexual Abuse and Agency that should provoke hearty discussion in June.

In July we have ‘That was my home’: stories from the Noongar camps of Fremantle and Perth's Western suburbs by Denise Cook is a fascinating account from recent history of Noongar camps that operated in close proximity to high-density established suburbs in our capital city. Also in July is Hearing Maud by Jessica White, a beautifully drawn hybrid memoir of what it’s like to be deaf in a  noisy and busy world. 

For fans of Vivienne Hansen and John Horsfall’s Noongar Bush Medicine we have by popular demand a follow-up with Noongar Bush Tucker in August. Alton Walley presents a new Noongar picture book series later in the year, illustrated by his brother John Walley.

This isn’t all, but a start to our plans for the new year. We hope you enjoy them as much as we currently are as we steer them through to finished books.

Terri-ann White, Director

 UWAP Free Shipping

2018 UWA Publishing Books

 

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Other articles:

Dancing in Shadows by Anna Haebich on the 2019 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlist!

UWAP Congratulations Anna Haebich on this achievement.

Read More

Reneé Pettitt-Schipp wins 2019 Western Australian Premier's Book Award!

UWAP is proud to congratulate Reneé Pettitt-Schipp for winning the 2019 Western Australian Premier's Book Award for an Emerging Writer.

Read More

Check out some recent reviews of our Fiction, Non-Fiction, Scholarly and Poetry titles

Hear what Australia's literary commentators and publications have to say about the books coming out from UWAP.

Read More

Rozanna Lilley shortlisted for 2019 National Biography Award!

We're thrilled to congratulate Rozanna Lilley on her shortlisting for this prestigious award for her book, Do Oysters Get Bored?

Read More

Vale Professor Sylvia J. Hallam

UWAP is deeply saddened by the recent passing of Professor Sylvia Hallam FAHA.

Read More

ABR reviews 'Requiem with Yellow Butterflies' by James Halford

Requiem with Yellow Butterflies begins, aptly, with a death. Sitting at his office in Brisbane, the author receives news that Gabriel García Márquez has died at his home in Mexico.

Read More