z

From 2018 to 2019: Books Galore from UWA Publishing

To our UWAP supporters

2018 has been a most satisfying year for us at UWA Publishing. You can see below all of the titles we released. We are particularly pleased with the responses – both critical and in sales volumes – of books by people working in universities who wrote engaging books about their thinking and research. We again published a lot of tremendous poetry volumes, and some cracking fiction by first-timers alongside established writers.

2018 carried books of activism and ‘ecological warrior’ thought; books that test the boundaries of language and expression; books about art and photography that makes a difference; and books that we anticipate will still be in the culture decades down the line.

In 2019, we will welcome two new members of staff and say farewell for a year of parental leave to our Publishing Manager, Kate Pickard. Kelly Somers – one of our valued freelance editors – will pack up her home office and join us in Love House. Our new Publishing Officer, Eleanor Hurt, is relocating from Sydney where she has been Buyer at Dymocks Sydney. We look forward to welcoming her to the West.

After a break we’ll be raring to go into 2019 with renewed vigour and new faces and these superb books:

In fiction we have three books in February: the extraordinary talent of Abu Dhabi-based Deepak Unnikrishnan with his first book Temporary People, already the recipient of three major international awards. Martin Edmond delivers an intriguing novel about memory and politics, Isinglass, and South African, Oxford-based Elleke Boehmer  explores southern hemisphere journeys and personal histories in The Shouting in the Dark. Also in February there are poetry volumes by Tricia Dearborn, Shey Marque and Richard James Allen. Later in 2019 these poets will also appear in our UWAP Poetry series: Michelle Cahill, Leni Shilton and Michael Aiken. The Collected Works of Christopher Brennan, edited by John Kinsella, will appear later in our Classic Australian Poetry series, and Stuart Cooke’s ecological volume Lyre posits other forms of life (animal, plant and other) have their own languages and thus poetries.

In April we have more fiction: a novella from John Hughes, No One, a search for identity lost and found on the streets of Redfern, and Typhoon Kingdom, by Matthew Hooton, that presents a parallel narrative set in Korea tracking the painful struggles towards independence in its history. We also have an exquisite travel and literary memoir in March by James Halford, Requiem with Yellow Butterflies. It tracks ways that we make sense of place, both geographic and psychic.  An Australian writer and a Mexican scientist fall in love reading great Latin American books aloud, including Judith Wright and Gabriel Garcia Marquez.

Catharine Lumby and Kate Gleeson have edited a volume entitled The Age of Consent?: Young People, Sexual Abuse and Agency that should provoke hearty discussion in June.

In July we have ‘That was my home’: stories from the Noongar camps of Fremantle and Perth's Western suburbs by Denise Cook is a fascinating account from recent history of Noongar camps that operated in close proximity to high-density established suburbs in our capital city. Also in July is Hearing Maud by Jessica White, a beautifully drawn hybrid memoir of what it’s like to be deaf in a  noisy and busy world. 

For fans of Vivienne Hansen and John Horsfall’s Noongar Bush Medicine we have by popular demand a follow-up with Noongar Bush Tucker in August. Alton Walley presents a new Noongar picture book series later in the year, illustrated by his brother John Walley.

This isn’t all, but a start to our plans for the new year. We hope you enjoy them as much as we currently are as we steer them through to finished books.

Terri-ann White, Director

 UWAP Free Shipping

2018 UWA Publishing Books

 

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Other articles:

WINNER ANNOUNCED: Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript 2019

UWA Publishing and the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund are thrilled to announce the winner of the 2019 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.

Read More

UWA Publishing at Perth Festival Writers' Week 2019

Check out the UWA Publishing authors you can catch at this year's festival!

Read More

Jean Kent launches 'Poor Man's Coat' by Kit Kelen

Launch speech by Jean Kent for Kit Kelen's Poor Man’s Coat.

Read More

Dorothy Hewett Award 2019 Shortlist Announcement

Discover the Dorothy Hewett Award shortlist for 2019.

Read More

Lucy Dougan launches Annamaria Weldon's Stone Mother Tongue

Sometimes a book comes along and it seems to find you…it seems to fit or become entirely emblematic to a time in your life. For me, right now, this feels so true...

Read More