Past winners of the Dorothy Hewett Award

Dorothy Hewett (1923-2002) is considered one of Australia’s leading writers whose work captures and disrupts ideas of normalcy in twentieth century Australian culture. In 1986, Hewett was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for her services to literature. Hewett won the Western Australian Premier’s Poetry Award in 1994 and 1995 for her collections Peninsula and Collected Poems: 1940-1995.


The Dorothy Hewett Award is hosted by UWA Publishing and supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund. It is a national award for unpublished manuscripts and run annually in the month of November. The award is open to all writers regardless if they have been published before or not. To enter and find out more click here.



Winner announced: Kirsty Iltners

Shortlisted writers



Winner announced: Brendan Ritchie

Shortlisted writers



Winners announced: Josh Kemp and Kgshak Akec

Shortlisted writers



Winner announced: Karen Wyld

Shortlisted writers



Winner announced: Angela Rockel

Shortlisted writers

The Dorothy Hewett Award announces change to become a national award



Winner announced: Julie Watts

Shortlisted writers


In 2017 we chose to align the award with the year of announcement



Winner announced: Odette Kelada

Shortlisted writers



Winner announced: Josephine Wilson

Shortlisted writers