2016 Dorothy Hewett Award shortlist sneak peek: Carolyn Abbs

The second Dorothy Hewett Award for an unpublished manuscript will be announced at the 2017 Perth Writers Festival on Saturday 25 February, 11:30am-12:30pm, in the Tropical Grove. To celebrate the talented writers that made the shortlist, we will be sharing extracts on our blog and social media in the weeks leading up to the ceremony. 


Carolyn Abbs

Carolyn Abbs is a Western Australian poet published in leading journals and anthologies such as Westerly, Cordite, Rabbit, Axon: Creative Explorations, The Best Australian Poems 2014, and Australian Book Review as part of the ABR ‘States of Poetry’ project (2016).






Sea Houses 

    ‘The eternal note of sadness in’, Mathew Arnold


Sometimes at night I lay awake and listen 
to the repetitious hush of the waves, and wonder 
how we came to be here, so far from home. 


Poppy’s house faces the sea, blindly 
in northern winter, a silent melancholy indoors: 
salt crystallizes on windows and vases stand empty 
on the ledge, save for sprigs of colourless catkin. 


Yet, one day in late June, strolling down the lane, 
flowers sprouted through fences and I found 
a bucketful of bright Marigolds for sale. 
I chose a fist-size bunch tied with string 
and wrapped a piece of brown tissue around, 
clonking coins into a tin.     With joy 
I took the Marigolds to Poppy and she said 
Oh I so wanted flowers for the window ledge. 


Tonight I listen to the waves, imagine her 
by an open window watching over the sea, 
the glow of Marigold beneath her chin 
like our childhood game of buttercups; 
and with the ebb and flow of thought 
I connect to home. 


Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Other articles:

Dorothy Hewett Award 2019 Shortlist Announcement

Discover the Dorothy Hewett Award shortlist for 2019.

Read More

Lucy Dougan launches Annamaria Weldon's Stone Mother Tongue

Sometimes a book comes along and it seems to find you…it seems to fit or become entirely emblematic to a time in your life. For me, right now, this feels so true...

Read More

UWAP celebrates ten years of publishing Australian poetry

UWA Publishing has celebrated its tenth anniversary of publishing Australian poetry with the release of four significant titles this month.

Read More

Author Tour: David Ritter in Perth

If you're in Perth, next week is your opportunity to hear David Ritter talk about his latest book, The Coal Truth.

Read More

Quinn Eades WINS the Mary Gilmore Award

Rallying by Quinn Eades wins the 2017 Mary Gilmore Award for best first book of poetry.

Read More

Dorothy Hewett and the Dorothy Hewett Award

Director Terri-ann White has made the following statement in response to the recent allegations made against Dorothy Hewett and the continuation of the Dorothy Hewett Award. 

Read More