Banksia Woodlands wins Golden Gecko Award


Banksia Woodlands: A restoration guide for the Swan Coastal Plain was the recipient of a 2017 Golden Gecko Award for Environmental Excellence last week, which was presented as part of the WA State Government’s Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety Awards for Excellence.


As reported in The West Australian, Department director-general Dean Smith said the awards promote and celebrate the work resource companies do within their industry and wider community.


The Golden Gecko, twenty-five years old this year, recognises innovation and leadership in environmental management. Presented by the Minister for Mines and Petroleum Sean L’Estrange, Banskia Woodlands was awarded the prize for documenting the new standard for rehabilitation and conservation of nationally important woodlands. The book is a collaboration between Kings Park and Botanic Gardens, The University of Western Australia and Hanson Construction Materials.


For more information on Banskia Woodlands, visit the webpage here.

 Banksia Woodlands

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Other articles:

Vale Bruce Dawe

UWAP honours poet Bruce Dawe who passed away earlier this week.

Read More

A statement from The University of Western Australia regarding UWAP

Since late 2019 The University of Western Australia (UWA) has been considering the role of UWA Publishing (UWAP) within the larger institution.

Read More

Karen Wyld wins 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

'Where the Fruit Falls' will be published in October 2020.

Read More

Shortlist announced for the 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished manuscript!

The judges of the 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript, in its fifth year, are delighted to announce the six shortlisted manuscripts. 

Read More

Dancing in Shadows by Anna Haebich on the 2019 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlist!

UWAP Congratulations Anna Haebich on this achievement.

Read More

Reneé Pettitt-Schipp wins 2019 Western Australian Premier's Book Award!

UWAP is proud to congratulate Reneé Pettitt-Schipp for winning the 2019 Western Australian Premier's Book Award for an Emerging Writer.

Read More