BANJAWARN shortlisted for the 2022 Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut Crime Fiction

Australian Crime Writers Association Banjawarn Josh kemp Ned Kelly Awards

Congratulations to Josh Kemp for being shortlisted for the 2022 Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut Crime Fiction!

Banjawarn by Josh Kemp

Banjawarn was the winner of The 2021 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.

Garreth Hoyle is a true crime writer whose destructive love affair with hallucinogenic drugs has sent him searching for ghosts in the unforgiving mallee desert of Western Australia. Heading north through Kalgoorlie, he attempts to score off old friends from his shearing days on Banjawarn Station. His journey takes an unexpected detour when he discovers an abandoned ten-year-old girl and decides to return her to her estranged father in Leonora, instead of alerting authorities. Together they begin the road trip from hell through the scorched heart of the state’s northern goldfields.
Love, friendship and hope are often found in the strangest places, but forgiveness is never simple, and the past lies buried just beneath the blood red topsoil. The only question is whether Hoyle should uncover it, or run as fast as his legs can take him.

Josh Kemp
Banjawarn is an unsettling debut from Josh Kemp. Echoing Cormac McCarthy’s haunting border trilogy and narrative vernacular that recalls the sparse lyricism of Randolph Stow and Tim Winton, this is a darkly funny novel that earns its place amongst the stable of Australian gothic literature.

Banjawarn is available to purchase from our website!

The winners of the Ned Kelly Awards will be announced in August by the Australian Crime Writers Association.

Ned Kelly Awards




Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published