The 2018 Dorothy Hewett Award

If you have an unpublished manuscript sitting in a desk drawer or tucked up in a Dropbox folder, we want to read it!


Our third Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript closes on Tuesday 1 August. Funded by Copyright Agency and supported by media partner The Monthly, The Dorothy Hewett Award is about discovering and celebrating literary talent in WA and beyond.


There's $10,000 and publishing contracts to be won. The award is open to all Australian citizens with a connection (through their writing or lives) with Western Australia, and to manuscripts of fiction, narrative non-fiction and poetry, inclusive of hybrid genres.


For full terms and conditions, visit our awards page here.


Dorothy Hewett


Image credit: Dorothy Hewett. Image A. T. Bolton courtesy of the National Library of Australia

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Other articles:

40% off selected visual art titles - this week only!

40% off selected visual art titles from May 20th to May 26th!

Read More


For one week only, get 40% off a selection of our Australian fiction titles.

Read More

WINNER ANNOUNCED: Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript 2019

UWA Publishing and the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund are thrilled to announce the winner of the 2019 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript.

Read More

UWA Publishing at Perth Festival Writers' Week 2019

Check out the UWA Publishing authors you can catch at this year's festival!

Read More

Jean Kent launches 'Poor Man's Coat' by Kit Kelen

Launch speech by Jean Kent for Kit Kelen's Poor Man’s Coat.

Read More

From 2018 to 2019: Books Galore from UWA Publishing

2018 has been a most satisfying year for us at UWA Publishing. 

Read More