Two UWAP authors shortlisted for 2019 WA Premier's Book Awards

We'd like to congratulate Amanda Curtin and Renee Pettitt-Schipp for their shortlistings in this year's WA Premier's Book Awards.
  • The shortlist of the Premier's Book Awards announced
  • Awards ceremony to be held on July 26, 2019 

Culture and the Arts Minister David Templeman today announced the shortlist for the 2018 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards.


The Western Australian Premier's Book Awards aim to support, develop and recognise excellence in writing.

This year UWAP is represented in the following two awards:

  • The Western Australian Writer's Fellowship ($60,000), designed to assist a Western Australian writer, of any genre, to develop their writing practice and give them the time to create new work.
  • The Premier's Prize for an Emerging Writer Award ($15,000) for the first published work of prose, poetry or narrative nonfiction, in any genre.

Emerging Writer shortlist

These beautiful Christmas Island poems capture both the despair of asylum seekers imprisoned by rock and sea and their ancient will to continue.


Fellowship shortlist

Amanda Curtin is the author of novels Elemental and The Sinkings, and a short story collection, Inherited(all UWA Publishing). Elemental was shortlisted for the 2014 WA Premier’s Book Awards (Fiction and People’s Choice categories) and was published in the UK in 2016 (Scribe UK).

Her award-winning short fiction has been published in Griffith Review, Southerly, Island, Indigo, Westerly and Review of Australian Fiction.


The winners of the 2018 Premier's Book Awards will be announced on July 26, 2019 during the Disrupted Festival of Ideas at the State Library of Western Australia.

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Other articles:

Vale Bruce Dawe

UWAP honours poet Bruce Dawe who passed away earlier this week.

Read More

A statement from The University of Western Australia regarding UWAP

Since late 2019 The University of Western Australia (UWA) has been considering the role of UWA Publishing (UWAP) within the larger institution.

Read More

Karen Wyld wins 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

'Where the Fruit Falls' will be published in October 2020.

Read More

Shortlist announced for the 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished manuscript!

The judges of the 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript, in its fifth year, are delighted to announce the six shortlisted manuscripts. 

Read More

Dancing in Shadows by Anna Haebich on the 2019 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlist!

UWAP Congratulations Anna Haebich on this achievement.

Read More

Reneé Pettitt-Schipp wins 2019 Western Australian Premier's Book Award!

UWAP is proud to congratulate Reneé Pettitt-Schipp for winning the 2019 Western Australian Premier's Book Award for an Emerging Writer.

Read More