The 2024 Dorothy Hewett Award is open for submissions!

DHA 2024 The Dorothy Hewett Award The Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

The 2024 Dorothy Hewett Award is open for submissions

The 2024 Dorothy Hewett Award is calling for submissions from writers across Australia who have an unpublished manuscript and are seeking publication.

The work must be fiction, narrative nonfiction or poetry, inclusive of hybrid genres such as verse novels or memoir. The winner will receive a cash prize of $10,000, courtesy of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, and will be offered a publishing contract with UWA Publishing. The 2024 Dorothy Hewett Award is accepting submissions for the month of November 2023.

The judges for the 2024 award are Tony Hughes-d’Aeth, Astrid Edwards, Thuy On and Kate Pickard. 

UWA Publishing is committed to publishing a wide range of voices and encourages those from diverse backgrounds to submit their work. Submissions open on Wednesday 1 November 10am AWST and close Thursday 30 November 2022 at 5pm AWST, with the shortlist to be announced early next year.

UWA Publishing sends a warm thank you to the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund for its ongoing support for the Dorothy Hewett Award, and wishes all entrants the best of luck!


If you have any queries please get in touch with us here.
Download the media release here.
Please read the terms and conditions before submitting.


To submit please visit our entry form page. Click here.


Proudly supported by the

Copyright Agency Cultural Fund


Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published