Dorothy Hewett Shortlist Announcement

UWA Publishing, in partnership with The Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, is
proud to be announcing the shortlist for the 2021 Dorothy Hewett Award for an
Unpublished Manuscript.

The judging panel has selected the following works:

  • After Life by Kathryn Lomer
  • Hopeless Kingdom by Kgshak Akec
  • Best of Both Worlds by Bronwyn Lovell
  • Strangest Places by Joshua Kemp
  • The Approval of Trees by Erica Woolgar
  • Anchor Watch by Madeleine Dale

This year, the Award received over 350 submissions from all over Australia. The
judges noted the considerable talent within the shortlisted titles, and the range
of form and genre that is represented in these six manuscripts.
More information on the award, the shortlistees and the judges can be found on
the UWA Publishing website.

The winner of the Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript will
receive a cash prize of $10,000 as well as a publishing contract with UWA

The winner of this year’s Award will be announced next month. Details on the
ceremony will be announced shortly.

The 2020 Award winner was Karen Wyld’s debut novel, Where the Fruit Falls,
which was released last October. The inaugural winner, Extinctions by Josephine Wilson, went on to win the Miles Franklin Literary Award in 2017.
UWA Publishing thanks the Copyright Agency for it’s ongoing support for the
Dorothy Hewett Award and wishes all shortlisted writers the best of luck!

Find out more about the authors and their manuscripts here.

Click here to download the media release.


Older Post Newer Post

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published