The Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript 2021 - Shortlist

UWA Publishing, in partnership with The Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, is
proud to be announcing the shortlist for the 2021 Dorothy Hewett Award for an
Unpublished Manuscript.

The judging panel has selected the following works:

  • After Life by Kathryn Lomer
  • Hopeless Kingdom by Kgshak Akec
  • The Best of Both Worlds by Bronwyn Lovell
  • Strangest Places by Joshua Kemp
  • The Approval of Trees by Erica Woolgar
  • Anchor Watch by Madeleine Dale


This year, the Award received over 350 submissions from all over Australia. The
judges noted the considerable talent within the shortlisted titles, and the range
of form and genre that is represented in these six manuscripts. More information about the shortlisted works can be found below.

The winner of the Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript will
receive a cash prize of $10,000 as well as a publishing contract with UWA
Publishing.

The winner of this year’s Award will be announced next month. Details on the
ceremony will be announced shortly.

 

After Life by Kathryn Lomer

Kathryn Lomer image

From the judges:

Even the titles thrum, so that the index reads like a suite of small poems. Kathryn Lomer’s is a house with many rooms, Wunderkammers all, filled with curious objects drawn from the worlds of art, science, nature, love, life, death… everything. Supple lines and sensitive rhythms make surprising conjunctions, often leading us from the smallest detail of a beloved’s body to an erotics of the cosmos. Lomer’s music shows us what it means to live a life of poetry.

Kathryn Lomer is a poet, novelist, short story and YA fiction writer from Tasmania.

 

Hopeless Kingdom by Kgshak Akec

Kgshak Akec image

From the judges:

Akec’s coming of age story is a powerful and timely exploration of belonging, race, gender and migration that follows a family from Sudan to Geelong via Cairo and Sydney. Akec contrasts the experiences of the women in this family through form and language, conjuring a powerful refraction of the experiences of African Australian women. Her storytelling is deeply personal as well as relatable and insightful. Akec is an exciting new voice in the Australian writing scene.

Kgshak is a writer, a poet, and a lover of words from Victoria.

 

 

The Best of Both Worlds by Bronwyn Lovell

Bronwyn Lovell image

From the judges:

The Best of Both Worlds is a beautiful, comprehensive and multifaceted verse novel that takes the reader on a journey from a muddled Earth into space and to Mars. This fresh and engaging look at humanity’s future after social and environmental destruction is littered with beautiful phrased and deeply flawed characters who are impossible not to love. Lovell’s writing is an ode to life and connection and a genuine delight to read.

Dr Bronwyn Lovell is an Adelaide-based poet, essayist and science fiction scholar.

 

 

Strangest Places by Joshua Kemp

Joshua Kemp image

From the judges:

Joshua Kemp’s Strangest Places is a taut modern Western Australian western. Moral complexity and personal failure haunt its spare landscapes. Kemp’s book is a frontier novel that captures the problematic quality of settler Australia. It shares some of the lyrical power and gothic splendour of Cormac McCarthy’s border trilogy. But it also seems, in its eye for detail and ear for vernacular Australian speech, firmly in the tradition of Randolph Stow and Tim Winton.

Joshua Kemp is an author of Australian Gothic fiction and is currently doing his PhD at Edith Cowan University in Bunbury.

 

 

The Approval of Trees by Erica Woolgar

Erica Woolgar image

From the judges:

The Approval of Trees explores a family mystery through interweaving journeys into the landscape. History is told and retold revealing layers of belonging, and loss, and questions of ownership. The beauty of this book is that the darkness is mirrored in the wonder of the living land, in books, in literature and in music, told without heaviness, and shot through with friendship and love.

Erica Woolgar is a short-story and poetry writer from Brisbane and the south coast of NSW.

 

 

Anchor Watch by Madeleine Dale

Madeleine Dale image

From the judges:

The poems in Madeleine Dale’s Anchor Watch transpire on a shoreline where powerful forces meet. It is a poetry in which the ocean exists as an implacable enigma. A poetry of shipwrecks, flotsam, and uncertain horizons. On the one hand, there is a coastal gothic quality to these poems, as if the events and people are from another century. But in other ways, they speak directly into the Anthropocene present and give an uncanny shape to extinctions and the collapse of oceanic systems.

Madeleine Dale is a Brisbane poet and is currently completing her Masters of Philosophy at the University of Queensland. 

 

Click here to download the media release.