Dancing in Shadows by Anna Haebich on the 2019 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlist!

Anna Haebich has been shortlisted in the Australian History category for her 2018 book, Dancing in Shadows - Histories of Noongar Performance.


The Judges commented:


Dancing in Shadows explores the power of Indigenous performance pitted against the forces of settler colonisation. Historian Anna Haebich documents how the Nyungar people of Western Australia strategically and courageously adapted their rich performance culture to survive the catastrophe that engulfed them, and generously share their culture, history and language in theatre.


The shortlists for this year's Prime Minister's Literary Awards have today been announced by the Prime Minister and the Minister for Communications, Cyber Safety and the Arts, the Hon Paul Fletcher MP.

The Awards celebrate Australian writing across six genres, selecting exceptional works from Australia's talented authors, illustrators, creators and historians. Such recognition allows them to share their creativity and research on a national and international scale.

The Prime Minister said each year the Awards attract high quality entries, appealing to all ages and interests.

“Today I announce this year's shortlisted authors for the 2019 Prime Minister's Literary Awards,” said the Prime Minister.

“This year we have a diverse selection shortlisted and I encourage everyone to pick one up and have a read, and celebrate our great local industry.”

Minister Fletcher said the judges had achieved an impressive task of reading through over 500 entries to shortlist the final 30.

“We've received an exceptional response to this year's call for entries. It is great to see well established and new authors being part of the selection and to welcome back previously shortlisted authors and illustrators,” Minister Fletcher said.

“I also thank the judges and chairs for their commitment to the Awards and for the enormous amount of work involved.”

For more information about the books, authors and to see the judges' comments, visit www.arts.gov.au/pmla.

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Other articles:

John Hughes 'No One' shortlisted for 2020 Miles Franklin!

Congratulations John!

Read More

Check out some recent reviews of our Fiction, Non-Fiction, Scholarly and Poetry titles

Hear what Australia's literary commentators have to say about the books coming out from UWAP.

Read More

Author video readings!

Missing author events during the pandemic? Listen to some of our favourite UWAP authors read from their poetry collections, memoirs and novels.

Read More

A statement from The University of Western Australia regarding UWAP

Since late 2019 The University of Western Australia (UWA) has been considering the role of UWA Publishing (UWAP) within the larger institution.

Read More

Karen Wyld wins 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

'Where the Fruit Falls' will be published in October 2020.

Read More