Poems 1957–2013

Poems 1957–2013

Regular price $10.00 Sale price $29.99 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

Geoffrey Lehmann


This substantial volume, Poems 1957–2013, contains all of the poetry written by Geoffrey Lehmann considered by the poet to be worthy of inclusion. He has taken the prerogative of the mature artist looking back to revise poems, sometimes substantially, and to restore lines and passages he had removed from earlier versions.

Displaying the breadth and depth of his poetry, Lehmann explores human nature in settings as diverse as ancient Rome and rural New South Wales, from searing satire to the domestic life of a family. The collection is divided into five sections: Simple Sonnets (1958–2011); Earlier Poems; Nero’s Poems (1970–2002); Spring Forest (1970–2010); and Later Poems (1976–2013).

This is Geoffrey Lehmann’s second volume of collected poems: in this book the span is dazzling; the poetry a major literary vessel from a highly awarded Australian writer.


Won - 2015 Prime Minister's Literary Award (Poetry)


Praise for Poems 1957-2013:

...the real distinctiveness of this poet’s lifetime work lies in his method of approaching subjects from all different perspectives, inhabiting them but then standing outside of them, not to spin the subject out but to see something of the complexity within.

Book details
FORMAT: Paperback
EXTENT: 384 pages
SIZE: 234 x 156 mm
ISBN: 9781742585604
RIGHTS: Australia and New Zealand
CATEGORY: Award HighlightsGeoffrey LehmannPoetry,