Sarah Rice

Sarah Rice is a Canberra-based art-theory lecturer, visual artist, and writer. She has a PhD in Philosophy and a Graduate Diploma in Visual Art. She is an honorary associate at the Australian National University and has lectured there for many years at the School of Art and Design. She won the inaugural 2014 Ron Pretty poetry award, the 2014 Bruce Dawe poetry prize, co-won the 2013 Writing Ventures International Competition, and 2011 Gwen Harwood poetry prize; and has been shortlisted in numerous national and international awards including the Montreal, Fish, Tom Howard, Yeats, Axel Clark, Michael Thwaites, New Millennium, Jean Cecily Drake-Brockman, C J Dennis, University of Canberra Health, and Philip Bacon poetry prizes. Her limited-edition art-book of poetry Those Who Travel (prints by Patsy Payne, Ampersand Duck, 2010) is held in the permanent collection of the National Gallery of Australia and other institutions. Additional publications include the Global Poetry Anthology, Award Winning Australian Writing, Best Australian Poetry, The House is Not Quiet and the World is Not Calm: Poetry from Canberra, Island, Southerly, The New Guard, Aesthetica, Verity La, ABR, and Australian Poetry Journal.