This item is out of print.


Anne Lamott


Rosie, the first book in Anne Lamott’s bestselling trilogy is a witty and wise coming-of-age novel about the growing pains of motherhood as a mother and her daughter try to rebuild their family of two.

Following her father’s death, Rosie, a wild and open-hearted young girl, is busy embracing the world.

Meanwhile, her mother Elizabeth must find a way to nurture her extraordinary daughter as she struggles with alcoholism, the death of her husband, and the prospect of a new relationship.

Crooked Little Heart and Imperfect Birds are the second and third books in the trilogy.


Praise for Rosie:

Anne Lamott creates an instant rapport with her reader by writing about intelligent women who like to read…As an older reader, I found Elizabeth to be a very accurate portrayal of how pre-feminist women struggled to find the courage to free themselves from their own conservative, self-limiting attitudes towards realizing their full potential…I found Rosie a charming read with complexity, humour and unpretentious insights into the way we often fail to question cultural expectations.



This touching and somewhat confronting tale tells the story of Elizabeth the beautiful Mother who drinks too much and sleeps too late, and Rosie, the young daughter who just might save Elizabeth from herself…Anne Lamott puts down on the page what we all fear in our hearts, whether it irrational and shallow or disturbingly honest. Rosie awakens the childhood memories we all have and Elizabeth the person we all feel we are at some stages in our lives.

Book details
FORMAT: Paperback
EXTENT: 288 pages
SIZE: 198 x 128 mm
ISBN: 9781742582511
RIGHTS: Australia and New Zealand
CATEGORY: Out of Print,