John Hughes 'No One' longlisted for 2020 Miles Franklin!

UWA Publishing congratulates John Hughes on his longlisting for the 2020 Miles Franklin Literary Award for his fantastic novel, No One, released last year. No One is one of ten longlisted titles for this year's Award.

“This year's Miles Franklin longlist is a mix of established and newer Australian authors. Their novels give voice to a diversity of Australian characters whose common feature is their location on the margins, whether geographical, familial or societal. They explore the ripples and repercussions of childhood trauma, the healing power of friendship, and the unshakeable presence of the past.” said Richard Neville, State Library of NSW Mitchell Librarian.





Praise for No One

John Hughes’s vivid, dark, intensely beautiful new novella No One is an unprecedented excursion into the nightmares of our colonial unconscious.

- Geordie Williamson in The Australian, July 2019


In No One, the echoes and traces that drive the narrator’s quest to find out who or what he collided with on the fateful evening have as much to do with the legacy of Australia’s colonial history and treatment of the original owners of the land as they do with the events that define his own traumatic history.


- George Kouvaros for Sydney Review of Books, August 2019


Like all good fiction, this novella tells more than one story.

No One is about the fractured identity of Australian society, delivered with an allegorist’s sensibility.

- Jack Cameron Stanton in The Sydney Morning Herald, June 2019

Leave a comment:

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published

Other articles:

Check out some recent reviews of our Fiction, Non-Fiction, Scholarly and Poetry titles

Hear what Australia's literary commentators have to say about the books coming out from UWAP.

Read More

Author video readings!

Missing author events during the pandemic? Listen to some of our favourite UWAP authors read from their poetry collections, memoirs and novels.

Read More

A statement from The University of Western Australia regarding UWAP

Since late 2019 The University of Western Australia (UWA) has been considering the role of UWA Publishing (UWAP) within the larger institution.

Read More

Karen Wyld wins 2020 Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript

'Where the Fruit Falls' will be published in October 2020.

Read More

Dancing in Shadows by Anna Haebich on the 2019 Prime Minister's Literary Awards shortlist!

UWAP Congratulations Anna Haebich on this achievement.

Read More